STARK COUNTY BAR ASSOCIATION 2024 LAW WEEK



MOOT COURT COMPETITION

Monday, April 29, 2024 HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS

For More Information, Please Contact Attorney Todd Evans @ 330-430-9300

Voices of Democracy

STARK COUNTY BAR ASSOCIATION

January 2, 2024

Dear Stark County High School Teachers:

The purpose of this letter is to invite your students to participate in the Moot Court Competition to be held on Monday, April 29, 2024.

The Moct Court Competition is part of the 2024 Law Week Celebration, which is organized locally by the Stark County Bar Association Law Day Committee and its members. This week celebrates the American heritage of liberty, justice, and equality under the law.

"Voices of Democracy" is this year's theme for Law Day. Moot Court involves simulated appellate oral arguments. Competitors will be judged on their court demeanor, organization and reasoning, responsiveness to questions, and overall persuasiveness. The judges of the competition will be local attorneys and judges. They will offer constructive criticism and submit an overall score for each participant.

We will recognize the top three competitors on each side of the argument with medals and will present certificates of participation to those involved. The winners will also be posted on our website.

If your school is interested in participating or need more information, please contact me as soon as possible at 330-430-9300. We will send out case packets to those who intend to participate and will provide other assistance in preparing for the competition.

Sincerely, Todd W. Evans

Law Day Chairman

TWE:cd

400 Courtyard Centre Building • 116 Cleveland Ave., N.W. • Canton, Ohio 44702-1728 330-453-0685 • 330-453-0686 • Fax 330-453-0180 • SCB@StarkCtyBar.com • www.StarkCtyBar.com Executive Director: Tina M. McCort

President First Vice President Second Vice President Secretary Treasurer Immediate Past President Stephan P. Babik

Officers Honorable Frank G. Forchione Angela T. Vagotis Andrea M. Scassa Beverly Proctor-Donald Gust Callas

Melissa Day John D. Ferrero Cathy J. Horner Julie Jakmides Mack Jonathan E. Morris Jude B. Streb

Executive Committee

Daniel D. Eisenbrei Cari Fusco Evans Maria Klutinoty Edwards Amanda L. Kuhn Tonya J. Rogers

Julie A. Everett Matthew P. Kreitzer Melissa Voros Pitinii Marcus Wainwright Stacey Zipay